top of page
Carolinas Golf Foundation

Jesse Haddock


Golf Coach


Jesse Haddock is credited with redefining the term “college golf coach.”  Prior to taking over the position at Wake Forest University, golf coaches were generally regarded as combination bus drivers/baby-sitters. Before he retired in the 1992, his dedication to duty and the success of his program had made the position as respectable as football or basketball coach. A 1952 graduate of Wake Forest, Haddock became golf coach in 1960 when the legendary “Bones” McKinney resigned. 

Three years later, his Demon Deacons won the first of the 18 Atlantic Coast Conference titles they would claim during his regime.  From 1967-77, the Deacons won the ACC crown 10 straight times, and in 1974 and ‘75, Haddock led the team to consecutive NCAA Championships.  Another NCAA title was added in 1986. Under Haddock, 16 Wake Forest golfers won the individual ACC title, while three of his players won the NCAA individual championship —Curtis Strange in 1974, Jay Haas in 1975 and Gary Hallberg in 1979.  Haddock’s players earned All-American recognition 63 times.

Other notable golfers who played for Haddock include: Billy Andrade, Gary Hallberg, Scott Hoch, Joe Inman, Jack Lewis, Jay Sigel, Leonard Thompson, David Thore, Lanny Wadkins and Robert Wrenn. Haddock, who twice coached the prestigious NCAA All-Star team against Japan, was inducted into the Wake Forest Sports Hall of Fame in 1980 and into the North Carolina Sports Hall of Fame in 1990.

Jesse Haddock was inducted into the Carolinas Golf Hall of Fame in 1985.

Please reload

bottom of page